Page Nav





Breaking News


Government Dissolves Air Zimbabwe

Government last week dissolved Air Zimbabwe management board and appointed Grant Thornton Chartered Accountants as caretaker administrators...

Government last week dissolved Air Zimbabwe management board and appointed Grant Thornton Chartered Accountants as caretaker administrators for the country’s airline.

Transport and Infrastructural Development minister Joram Gumbo confirmed yesterday that the disbandment of the board and the appointment of a caretaker was meant to safeguard the airline’s assets.

“The Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, by their letter dated July 25, 2018 notified my office that it was not feasible to extend the protection under the Finance Act,” Gumbo said.

“Instead, the Ministry of Finance recommended to the Office of the President and Cabinet that Air Zimbabwe (Pvt) Ltd and Air Zimbabwe Holdings (Pvt) Ltd should be placed under the reconstruction of State Indebted Insolvent Companies Act Chapter (24:27).The recommendation was approved and forwarded to the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs.”
Government Dissolves Air Zimbabwe
Initially, government issued a Government Gazette dated July 27 where it had appointed three Air Zimbabwe officials as interim administrators.

The Ministry of Transport then sought the services of Grant Thornton through the approval of the Procurement Authority of Zimbabwe.

Gumbo said the appointment of an administrator is provided “in the General Notice number 610 of 2018 with the duties, functions and control of the board in the companies now vested in the administrator”.

Management for Air Zimbabwe (Pvt) Ltd and Air Zimbabwe holdings (Pvt) Ltd shall remain in place, but answerable to Grant Thornton Chartered Accountants, who in turn will report to the permanent secretary.

The permanent secretary will be calling Air Zimbabwe management and the regulatory authority management teams to a meeting with the administrator at a convenient time.

The sacked board comprised of chairperson Chipo Dyanda, deputised by Pathias Chironga and members included Pascal Changunda, Lyton Shumba, Fulton Mangwanya and Dacl-Ray Rambanapasi. NewsDay
Disclaimer: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only.

The information is provided by PaHarare Exptreme using online sources and while we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose.

Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.

Classic Header